1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Martial Arts for preppers.

Discussion in 'The Main Board' started by hypnos, Feb 10, 2019.

1. hypnos

hypnos Talkative Member

With more and more problems and restrictions concerning firearms coming to light, and even if we live in a free state, we may be forced to travel to places not free where we are no less in need of a means of defense.

My list of ideas isn't definitive, but it is based on experience and use of my skills to defend myself from attack(s).

I have been a practicing martial artist for 20 years, and through my investigation of martial arts which was fairly extensive and exhaustive I have made some conclusions to share with you.

Regardless of the "style" you choose, train in a system that places an emphasis on full contact fighting. Beautiful movements and techniques against an imaginary bad guy look amazing to bystanders and in the mirror, but if you are unable to deal with a person standing infront of you it was all for nothing. Some schools do not allow strikes to the face, some force their students to learn words in the language the art originated in. One of the first things that will happen in a fight is a person will attempt or succeed to strike you in the face, and there are more effecient ways to learn a foreign language than near meaningless korean phrases.

"Reality based" is a buzzword to be attracted to. But does not mean what that school teaches really is. Do not be afraid to test the instructors knowledge, if he has a problem with your questions you are training with the wrong people.

If possible avoid the belt system and traditional martial art insanity.