1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Article- The importance of starting a Family Emergency Plan

Discussion in 'The Main Board' started by Atlas, Sep 3, 2018.

1. Atlas

Atlas Administrator Staff Member Survival Class Instructor

Attached Files:

2. lonewolf

lonewolf Well-Known Member

no we don't use it ourselves, there is only the two of us and we know what to do, in any case we are together 24/7 most of the time- a few hours or a day or so apart depending on the wife's research. so our needs are more simple.
    but for someone away working, wife an another job site, kids in school, it would be good to decide what to do, where to go, where to meet, in an emergency.

3. Atlas

If someone came to you and said "I am just getting started with prepping, but it all seems so overwhelming. Where do I start?" What is your reply?

4. lonewolf

start with the basics....food and water. we all need those to live.
    get a few extra cans of what you like to eat each time you go to the store, and remember "eat what you store, store what you eat" and "rotate, rotate, rotate"...put the new cans to the back of the cupboard, shelf, or whatever, bring the old cans forward and eat those first.
    buy bottles of water at the store, bring home and put in a dry, cool, place out of direct sunlight.
    I have started a couple of forums with this very same advice.

Last edited: Sep 3, 2018
    jimLE and Atlas like this.
  5. Sally Rudd

Sally Rudd Well-Known Member

We use the GOV.UK version of the same thing. It's always a good idea to have something written down, it's easy to forget something in a rush especially if you have a family and these lists are a great aide memoir. The one our government provides is maybe not as detailed but it gives the general idea and for someone just starting out, it's as good a place as any to make a start and that's really what we want to encourage.